Department of Languages

The main objective of the Department of Languages of the FE is to provide all language teaching for students of all branches and years of the Faculty of Economics. Courses are offered for the following languages: English, German, Russian, French, Italian, and Spanish. The department also provides other services (translations, proofreading of texts, preparations of programmes in foreign languages, etc.) according to the needs of the FE. The department does not have its own scientific programme.

All the teaching is provided at lower intermediate or intermediate levels so that the students could continue developing their secondary-school knowledge. The programme of language courses respects the international levels of the Common European Reference Framework for languages (CERF) and after completing the course students will obtain certificates of their language qualification. The certificates can be used for studying at partner universities during their study at the FE or later when applying for a job at firms.

Prior to starting their study the students can test their knowledge by means of sample ʺentrance testsʺ given for each language. Beginner courses will be offerred to possible applicants in all above-mentioned languages within the Centre of Lifelong Education.

The department resides in building A (the Deanery of the FE), ground floor (opposite the Study Office), offices 029M, 029V, 030V.



phone: +420 38903 2457



Department of Languages
Faculty of Economics
University of South Bohemia
Studentská 13
37005 České Budějovice
Czech Republic